La Salle wins UAAP Season 74 Men’s Tennis title

The De La Salle Men’s Tennis team defeated NU 3-2 earlier today to win the UAAP Season 74 championship.

Season MVP Michael Basco gave DLSU an early 1-0 lead as he defeated NU’s Tim Polero in the first singles, 6-0; 6-0. In the first doubles, DLSU’s Pemrik Alina & Kyle Cordero lost to NU’s Michael Madrio & Fritz Verdad 6-7 (3); 1-6.

La Salle grabbed the upper-hand once more as they prevailed in the second singles with Alvee Villamor defeating Al-khady Jainul 6-4; 6-2. NU tied the count at 2-all after the pair of Wilson Oblea and Deo Talatayod defeated DLSU’s Fidel Regis and Ed Amor 4-6; 3-6 in the second doubles.

In the deciding singles, DLSU’s Ernesto Pantua dealt Rookie of the Year Leander Lazaro his first loss of the tournament, 2-6; 6-4; 6-2 as the Green Tennisters go on to recapture the title they last won in the 2008-2009 season. La Salle swept the elimination round with a 10-0 record and have the twice-to-beat advantage in this finals series.

In Women’s Tennis, La Salle also swept the eliminations at 6-0 and will also have the twice-to-beat edge over UST in the finals. Their series will start this coming Friday.

Back to blog