DLSZ Sports Round-Up: Tennis Teams dominate ISTA Tournament. Jins rule 1st Bro. Ceci Taekwondo Championships


Contributed By Michael Sy (DLSZ Sports Devt Foundation)

De La Salle Zobel high school tennis teams dominated the 2012-2013 edition of the Inter-School Tennis  Association (ISTA) Tournament taking both the Gold and Bronze medals in the Boys Division 2 category, and Gold in the Girls Division 1 category in awarding ceremonies held in Colegio San Agustin Makati last Saturday, February 23.

In the boys category, DLSZ Team A led by team captain Edward Choy, captured the Gold after finishing with a perfect win-loss record of 6-0 in the tournament. DLSZ Team B finished with a record of 3-3 to cop the bronze.

In the Girls category, junior ITF veterans Isabella and Katrina Orteza led their team to a 5-0 win-loss record to win the Gold for the third consecutive year.

According to Head Coach Apolo Alfaro, “ Our wins here are special as it is the first time our high school boys team have won a championship in this tournament, and for our girls team,  it is the third straight year we have won the title.”

He added, “I would like to thank all the players for their patience and hard work they put into their training and to the parents for supporting their children. We look forward to defending our titles in next year’s competition.”  

Men’s team: Photo from left to right: Jacob Co, Edward Choy, Benjamin Cano, Jeremy Carreon, Lorenzo Santos, Coach Apolo Alfaro. Not in photo: Arkaine Cordova, Joshua Lazaro, Ramon Villacorta  

Women’s Team: Photo from left to right: Nina Pamintuan, Hannah Capinpin, Coach Apolo Alfaro, Katrina Orteza, Trina Tiamson. Not in photo: Isabella Orteza


The 1st Bro. Ceci Taekwondo Championships was successfully held at the Sports Pavilion of De La Salle Zobel on January 26, 2012. Hosted by the De La Salle Zobel-Sports Development Foundation, sanctioned by the Philippine Taekwondo Association and organized by Universal Thunderbolt Corporation, more than 186 players from 22 teams representing their schools and gyms participated in the tournament in the novice, advance and blackbelt categories in both Kyorugi (Sparring) and Poomsae (Forms) events.  

The Philippine Poomsae team graced the opening ceremony with an inspiring demonstration lead by their Captain JP Sabido together with his teammates Rani Ann Ortega and Janice Lagman.

The Kyorugi Over-all Champion award went to De La Salle Zobel  with its 11 gold, 10 silver and 16 bronze medal haul closely followed by First Runner-up Team RKC with its 11 gold, 5 silver and 3 bronze medal output while Second Runner-up Bocaue TKD Training Center won 9 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze medals.

Back to blog