La Salle beats UST to reclaim UAAP Women’s Tennis title

DLSU Lady Tennisters

The De La Salle women’s tennis team defeated defending champion UST 3-2 yesterday to recapture the UAAP championship.

In the deciding singles match, senior Martina Guba edged her UST counterpart 7-5, 6-0 to seal their third title in the last four years.

Regina Santiago won the opening singles match 6,3 6-1 but UST came back in the first doubles as they defeated Lynette Palasan and Aira Putiz 1-6, 2-6.

The second doubles was won by Marinel Rudas 6-1, 6-3 while the pair of Princess Castillo and Nikki Arandia lost the second doubles 3-6, 2-6.

Santiago, playing in her final season together with Guba and undefeated in her entire UAAP career, was adjudged tournament MVP while Rudas won the Rookie of the Year plum.

Note: Prior to this season, the last 11 championships in mens and womens tennis have been won by either La Salle or UST. The trend was broken in the men’s side this season as NU defeated UST in the championship series.

Regina Santiago and Marinel Rudas
Regina Santiago – MVP / Marinel Rudas – Rookie of the Year

Back to blog