San Sebastian sinks Green Archers in FilOil tourney; CSB wins in double OT

The De La Salle Green Archers suffered the consequences of a slow start, succumbing to San Sebastian College-Recoletos, 73-59, on May 27 at the FilOil-Flying V Preseason Manny V. Pangilinan Cup at the FilOil-Flying V Arena.

The Stags stringed together a 15-2 run midway of the first quarter to go ahead, 25-9. Coupled with the Archers’ lax defense, the first ten minutes ended with DLSU trailing 13-30.

San Sebastian then started heating up from the perimeter as a flurry of three-pointers gave the Recto-based squad its largest gap of 33, 58-25, from a Jimbo Aquino triple, 8:16 of the third.

The green and white squad tried its hardest to come back in the final canto, managing to cut the lead to a more respectable 14-point spread.

This is De La Salle’s first defeat in the FilOil tournament, but its third consecutive counting the two setbacks suffered in the Nike Summer League the past few days.

Former Staglet Arvie Bringas scored 12 points and Bader Malabes had ten to lead the Archers.

Aquino pumped 18 points with Raymond Maconocido notching 12 for Baste. Former Nokia RP Youth Team member Ian Sangalang had ten markers.

Meanwhile, sister team College of Saint Benilde scored a victory against University of the Philippines, 98-94, in double overtime for the Blazers’ second win.

Jeff Morial scored on two freethrows with :09.5 to go to give the lead to CSB for good. Woody Co had a chance to tie the count but he was bothered by two defenders as RJ Argamino streaked at the other end for a layup to beat the buzzer to seal the tally.

Carlo Lastimosa topscored for Benilde with 21 points as Mark de Guzman put up 16. Jacob Manlapaz scored 15 markers and Argamino ended up with 14.

Mikee and Martin Reyes combined for 40 points for the Maroons. Co finished with 17, while Mark Juruena and Alvin Padilla had 14 and ten, respectively.


Benilde 98 – Lastimosa 21, de Guzman 16, Manlapaz 15, Argamino 14,
dela Paz 8, Morial 7, Sia 4, Wong 4, Abolucion 4, Umlas 3, Tan 2,
Martinez 0, Tajonera 0, Manalac 0.

UP 94 – Reyes, Mi. 21, Reyes, Ma. 19, Co 17, Juruena 14, Padilla 10,
Astorga 9, Gamboa 4, Braganza 0, Lao 0, Marfori 0, Gomez 0, Hipolito

Quarters: 18-23, 39-44, 57-58, 84-84, 88-88, 98-94.

San Sebastian 73 – Aquino 18, Maconocido 12, Sangalang 10, Najorda 7, Raymundo 7, Abueva 6, Pascual 6, del Rio 5, Bulawan 2, Semira 0.

De La Salle 59 – Bringas 12, Malabes 10, Webb 8, Bagatsing 7, Mangahas 6, Paredes 4, Barua 4, Tolentino 3, Banal 3, Revilla 2, Atkins 0, Reyes 0, Co 0, Marata 0, Andrada 0.

Quarters: 30-13, 55-23, 63-41, 73-59.

Back to blog