Go Archers -

Young St. Benilde team hopes to blaze its way back to the NCAA elite

Starting this season, this site will cover on a regular basis the games of the College of St Benilde (CSB) Blazers men’s basketball team.

After winning the NCAA title in just their third year of participation back in 2000, the Blazers slowly fell out of prominence in the seasons that followed. Despite having enough talent to at the very least compete for a final four berth, the team has been a regular fixture at the near bottom of the standings in recent years. Coaching stability could be a factor as to why the Blazers face difficulty in maintaining a solid basketball program.

Just like the DLSU Green Archers, the 2010 CSB Blazers will parade a very young team in Season 86 of the NCAA. Benilde lost several key veterans from last year and they are hoping that the new recruits of Coach Richard Del Rosario will help lay the foundation for the team’s success in the future.

Rookie Carlo Lastimosa is expected to carry much of the scoring load for the Blazers. The standout from Xavier University and nephew of former PBA great Jojo Lastimosa was a revelation during the preseason, averaging 14.5 points. Other notable additions are PCU transferee Timothy McCoy, DLSZ’s Anton Sevilla and Luis Sinco of Ateneo HS. They join old reliables like Mark De Guzman, Robbie Manalac and MC Abolucion with the hopes of improving on their 8th place finish last season and eventually bring CSB back to its winning ways just like in the early 2000s.

2010 CSB Blazers

MC Abolucion – G
AL Amin – F
RJ Agramino – G
Mark De Guzman – G/F
Ian De la Paz –F
Carlo Lastimosa – G
Robbie Manalac – F
Timothy McCoy – F/C
Rafael Melocoton – G
Ralph Nayve – F/G
JR Ongteco – C
Anton Sevilla – F
Luis Sinco – G
Jan Tan – F/C
Alex Wong – F

Blazers’ NCAA First Round Schedule
All games at San Juan Arena

5-Jul-10 vs Arellano 2:00 PM
14-Jul-10 vs San Sebastian 2:00 PM
23-Jul-10 vs JRU 2:00 PM
28-Jul-10 vs EAC 2:00 PM
4-Aug-10 vs Letran 2:00 PM
6-Aug-10 vs Mapua 2:00 PM
11-Aug-10 vs San Beda 2:00 PM
16-Aug-10 vs Perpetual 4:00 PM